Lawyers committed for the cause of “Justice” urging the political parties to boycott the polls.

All Pakistan Lawyers’ Representatives Convention: Lawyers urge parties to boycott polls 

Daily Times Report:LAHORE: All Pakistan Lawyers’ Representatives Convention on Saturday decided to boycott the upcoming elections and urged the political parties to join them in this regard to get rid of the “unconstitutional rule”.

In the presence of President Pervez Musharraf, so-called caretaker government and “partial election commission” the polls could not be held fair, free and impartial, the speakers said.

Lawyers’ representatives from all over the country participated in the convention. The speakers urged the political parties, civil society organisations, students and the media to continue their participation in the struggle for the restoration of the constitution and the restoration of the judiciary to its pre-Nov 3 status.

Eleven resolutions were presented before the house, which were unanimously carried. The resolutions included immediate restoration of the deposed judges. The house rejected the emergency rule and PCO and refused to recognise the PCO judges.

The convention demanded release of the detained lawyers including Aitzaz Ahsan, Munir A Malik, Ali Ahmad Kurd, Justice (r) Tariq Mehmood, Baz Muhammad Kakar and Hadi Shakeel Ahmad.

They denounced the PEMRA Ordinance and termed curbs imposed on various private TV channels as “evil intentions”.

The house termed the amendments in the Army Act and legal practitioners and Bar Council Act as “illegal”. It said Pervez Musharraf was not the president of the country and the lawyers’ community would not recognise him as the president.

The house believed that the amendments in the acts were the “pet project” of Attorney General of Pakistan Malik Qayyum and Sharifuddin Pirzada.

They denounced manhandling and forced exile of Justice (r) Wajihuddin from the Punjab. The house denounced the foreign intervention in the country’s internal matters.

In the convention Punjab Bar Council vice chairman announced not to include decision of the PCO judges in the Pakistan Law Journal (PLJ).

Those who spoke on the occasion included Tariq Javed Warraich, Syed Arbab Ahmad, Mirza Aziz Akbar Baig, Hamid Khan, Syed Muhammad Shah, Ahsan Bhoon, Justice (r) Nasira Javed Iqbal, Justice (r) Khalilur Rehman Khan, Azad Kashmir Bar Association president, Balochistan Bar Council secretary and members of Sindh Bar Council and Hyderabad Bar Association.