Dictator removes 37 non-PCO genuine judges—> Lawyers protest on the removal of the 37 defiant judges.

In sharp contrast to the nationwide demand for restoration of all superior judges who were deposed for denying a fresh oath under Provisional Constitutional Order (PCO), the Law And Justice Ministry on Tuesday notified retirement of 37 such judges of the Supreme Court and high courts. 
Those who have been shown the door at the peak of their service in judiciary included deposed Chief Justice Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhry, Justice Rana Bhagwandas, Justice Javed Iqbal, Justice Khalil-ur-Rehman Ramday besides nine other judges of the apex court.

More than 50 judges of superior courts, including the then Chief Justice of Pakistan Justice Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhry and Chief Justices of Peshawar and Sindh High Courts Justice Tariq Pervez and Justice Syed Sabih ud Din Ahmed had refused to take oath under the new PCO issued immediately after imposition of emergency in the country on November 3.

Pakistani lawyers took to the streets of the capital, Islamabad, Wednesday to protest President Pervez Musharraf’s purging of the country’s judiciary.

Lawyers in Islamabad announced plans to indefinitely boycott the courts daily – working only a half-day – until the president restores the constitution and reinstates a host of judges he deposed for challenging his re-election.

(courtesy: The Nation and VOA)

An appeal to the politicians and civil society: Please don’t give legality to Musharraf’s actions by taking part in the 2008 “General Selections”